Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 in Arizona

The Arizona Section 8 housing program is managed on both the federal and state levels. Section 8 was designed to assist families who are struggling to find and afford safe, decent housing. The AZ low income housing services have guidelines set for the program by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), which determines eligibility guidelines and funding limits. However, at the state level, 25 housing authority agencies, servicing 15 counties in Arizona, have been granted discretion by the US government to adjust eligibility guidelines, set preferences, and to maintain their waiting lists to best suit the needs of their region.

Section 8 in Arizona is offered by way of two basic housing programs: project-based and tenant-based. Project-based Section 8 housing distributes funding that is tied to existing buildings or rental units within a building. The local government, via local housing authority agencies, works directly with building owners in order to set aside groups of apartments that can be paid for with vouchers distributed to approved low income families or individuals. In project-based programs, renters view their local housing authority, and Section 8, as their landlord and submit their vouchers accordingly. However, the tenant-based programs issue vouchers (on behalf of the family) directly to the landlord of participating low income house rentals. In some cases the AZ Section 8 tenant-based program even assists low income families in purchasing a home.

Tenant-based Section 8 housing programs are transferable, which means that if a tenant wants to move from their current residence to another low-income residence, they may do so without loss of benefits. However, if an AZ Section 8 project-based beneficiary moves to a different district, he or she will have to reapply because the Section 8 funding is tied to the property, not the individual. In both programs, low income housing recipients are expected to pay 30 percent of their income towards their rental payment each month.

Arizona residents can begin the Section 8 housing process by applying for all programs through the local housing authority offices, online, by mail, or in person. It is advisable for those new to the AZ Section 8 program to apply to as many housing authorities as possible to minimize the wait time. Currently, the Arizona Section 8 housing program has openings in 11 counties, but is subject to change as vacancies close and reopen.

Learn About Requirements for Section 8 in Arizona

When looking up the Section 8 eligibility criteria for Arizona, an applicant might find themselves overwhelmed by the many requirements. Applicants are expected to meet federal, state, and local Section 8 eligibility guidelines to be eligible to receive housing benefits. Many applicants ask themselves, “What are the qualifications for low income housing in AZ?” and “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing?” as they scan through the long lists. While it may be trying to determine whether an applicant meets Section 8 eligibility requirements, taking the process step by step will reveal the answer.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in Arizona

Arizona residents wondering how to sign up for Section 8 housing in Arizona should start by locating and enlisting the assistance of their local housing authority. There they can obtain an HUD Section 8 application in person. For those who are computer savvy, there is a downloadable online application for low income housing which can be used to file for housing benefits. All Section 8 programs in AZ have waiting lists for those who have submitted their HUD Section 8 application, and new applications are accepted only when the waiting list is declared open. Those new to the program are urged to register for Section 8 housing programs with several housing authorities since waiting lists can often last months or even years. A great deal of personal information will be required in order to fill out the HUD Section 8 application, not only for the applicant, but for all household members.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in Arizona

To be placed on a low income housing waiting list, an applicant must submit all sections of the HUD section 8 application, along with the proper eligibility documentation attached. If the application includes the appropriate information and documentation requested, the applicant is placed onto the Section 8 housing program application waiting list until a housing voucher becomes available. If the application does not include all of the requested information, the applicant will likely receive a denial letter and will be required to reapply. The various Section 8 housing waiting list 2017 open announcements are updated independently of one another, so it is important to check all lists to which the applicant has been accepted. Likewise, the low income housing waiting lists are updated regularly, therefore applicants are advised to check their status on a weekly basis.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in Arizona

Receipt of a Section 8 denial letter in Arizona indicates that the applicant met certain Section 8 Housing disqualifications and consequently had his or her application denied. What are the reasons for Section 8 denial in Arizona? The most prevalent reasons for issuance of a Section 8 denial letter is incomplete HUD applications or insufficient and unverifiable documentation. The denial letter will feature the Section 8 housing disqualifications that the applicant met. Included with the denial correspondence will be a Section 8 denial appeal form, which applicants can use in the event that they do not agree with the housing authority’s reasons for denial.