Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Apartments in California

CA Section 8 housing is a state government-run program that aims to assist struggling families to afford quality low income house rentals in the state of California. Section 8 was originally enacted at the federal level. While the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) oversees the overarching regulations required for Section 8, the local housing authority agencies add additional requirements for state-level programs. There are also specialty Section 8 housing programs available, such as the Veterans Affairs Supportive Housing (VASH) program. VASH is jointly funded by HUD and the United States Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) to provide vouchers specifically for vulnerable veterans.

Section 8 housing program benefits are distributed in the form of vouchers. There are two types of housing vouchers available: project-based and tenant-based. Section 8 tenant-based vouchers are intended for beneficiaries who reside within apartment complexes already approved by the local housing authority to participate in CA Section 8. Project-based vouchers are intended for beneficiaries who wish to find low income house rentals within a specified area. Most of the time, low income housing can be found anywhere within an area where a landlord will accept a voucher.

Applicants in good standing for Section 8 benefits are the disabled, veterans, low-income families, and the elderly. Any applicants who meet other eligibility requirements and fall into one or more of those previous categories is likely to be approved for Section 8 program benefits. Other requirements for low income housing include income, residency, and background information. If a resident believes he or she qualifies for Section 8 housing, the next step is to fill out and submit an application. Once the application has been processed, the applicant will receive a letter from the housing authority detailing their status in the program. If they were successful in applying for Section 8, they will be placed on a low income housing waiting list until vouchers are available for distribution.

The HUD Section 8 program has grown exponentially since its implementation in the 1970s. As of 2008, approximately 4.8 million applicants received assistance nationwide to afford low income house rentals that are sanitary and safe. With its continued upward trend, the CA Section 8 housing program is expected to reach even more families who are struggling.

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in California

Interested parties might wonder, “What are the requirements for Section 8?” And, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing here in California?” These are fair questions, and it is encouraged that individuals determine their Section 8 eligibility before taking on the rigorous application process. The list of requested documentation alone is extensive. Likewise, completing the form accurately requires a keen understanding of the application process.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in California

It is imperative to know precisely how to apply for Section 8 housing and have all required documentation on hand when applying in California. If an applicant fails to fill out the Department of Housing and Urban Development HUD Section 8 application correctly, the consequences can be costly and time consuming. The process to register for Section 8 housing programs in CA begins with obtaining an HUD Section 8 application in person from the nearest housing authority. Another option is to use the online application for low income housing to apply electronically. Once the application has been submitted, it is reviewed by the housing authority, which then makes a decision about the applicant’s acceptance or denial into Section 8.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in California

Approved Section 8 applicants are placed on the Section 8 housing program application waiting list in the state of California. CA low income housing waiting lists fluctuate between open and closed, depending on unit availability. In order to be assigned to the Section 8 housing waiting list 2017 in California, an applicant must have their application approved by a local credited housing authority. As soon as an applicant receives his or her confirmation letter detailing their acceptance into the program, they will be placed on the Section 8 housing program application waiting list until vouchers become available. When applicants reach the top of the list and housing units are available, they will be granted either a project- or tenant-based voucher. Not all low income housing waiting lists are maintained in the same way. Specific counties may update their lists by way of a different ranking system or timeframe.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in California

The list of Section 8 housing disqualifications in California is lengthy, therefore some applicants may be denied from the program simply because they do not qualify. Some applicants may even receive multiple CA Section 8 denial letters before being admitted into the program. After an applicant has submitted his or her application, and after a two-week verification process, the housing authority sends a response letter in the mail. This correspondence details the Section 8 housing disqualifications met by the applicant. There are quite a few reasons as to why an applicant might be issued a Section 8 denial letter, though it is often a result of small errors on the application. In these instances, applicants have the right to file a Section 8 denial appeal with their local housing authority. To learn how to appeal Section 8 denial, applicants can receive assistance from a housing authority representative.