Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in Georgia

Section 8 eligibility in Georgia is comprised of varying parts. What are the requirements for Section 8 in GA? An applicant must not only meet federal HUD guidelines but state and local housing authority guidelines as well. Many applicants begin to wonder, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing in Georgia at all?” due to the rigorous nature of the application process. Section 8 eligibility in Georgia is contingent upon three main categories that are directly affected by the area of Georgia wherein an applicant lives. There are 158 counties in the state of Georgia, each with slightly different eligibility regulations. Therefore, it is important for applicants to familiarize themselves with their local housing authority.

What are the qualifications for low income housing in Georgia?

What are the qualifications for low income housing in Georgia? There are many factors that play into Section 8 eligibility, but there are three primary categories to which all applicants must pay attention: income, residency, and supplemental local requirements established by local housing authorities. In the state of Georgia, an applicant will not be considered approved for section 8 eligibility unless they make less than 50 percent of the median income for his or her area and family size. Since every county is different, the median income for one area may be higher or lower than for another. If an applicant is unsure of what his or her area’s median income range, the housing authority can provide answers. If a family makes less than 50 percent of the median income set by section 8 eligibility standards, they will be classified as very low-income and are likely to receive special priority.

What are the requirements for Section 8 in Georgia besides income level? In the state of Georgia, to be considered for section 8 eligibility an applicant must meet certain citizenship regulations. This means an applicant must not only be a U.S. citizen or equivalent, but must also be a resident of the state. Specific to the state of Georgia, an applicant must have lived within the area for a minimum of 12 months before applying. However, these regulations pertain only to the primary applicant and does not include other household or family members.

Applicants with a history of criminal activity may wonder, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing?” and they will be encouraged to learn that a criminal background does not necessarily exclude an applicant from eligibility. Applicants or members of the applicant’s household who have been convicted of a crime are still allowed to apply for Section 8 housing. However, the presence of criminal activity may affect the overall decision regarding section 8 eligibility for the application, in that all past crimes will be reviewed and evaluated. Certain crimes that warrant an automatic section 8 eligibility denial include sexual offenses and the manufacturing of methamphetamines. If an applicant does not have a criminal record but someone in the household does, his or her Section 8 eligibility application must be supplemented with documentation pertaining to the crime. However, if the household member in question leaves the household, then the primary applicant will not be judged on the crime, so long as everyone else in the household has a clean record.

What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing in Georgia?

“What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing in Georgia?” Is the next question an applicant should consider after confirming eligibility. Applying for Section 8 in Georgia requires extensive and accurate documentation. Documentation is used by the housing authority to verify the information on the application and determine if an applicant should receive benefits. However, documentation is also one of the number one reasons for an applicant to receive a Section 8 denial letter. Hence, it is integral for applicants to have the correct Section 8 eligibility documents on hand before beginning the application. Some commonly requested documents for Section 8 include:

  • Personal identification for everyone in the household
  • Official birth certificates for everyone in the household
  • Social Security cards for everyone in the household
  • Current transcripts (if applicable)
  • Proof of residency in the county (utility bill, or letter from a shelter)
  • A listing of any other government benefits
  • Pay stubs and tax returns (three months’ worth if applicable)
  • A listing of current debts and assets

Depending on which county an applicant lives in, there may be additional section 8 eligibility documentation or requirements set forth by the housing authority. Applicants are advised to get in touch with the housing authority office to ask about all necessary documentation and guidelines for section 8 eligibility for their specific county.