Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 in Idaho

Section 8 housing in Idaho has 43 counties who are serviced by 11 regional housing authorities in the state. The largest housing authority is the Idaho Housing and Finance Association, who manages and maintains Section 8 eligibility for 3,546 rental units in the area. In total, the state of Idaho provides low income housing opportunities in approximately 15,601 apartments and low income house rentals. Low income housing rentals are available throughout the state, using two types of Section 8 programs, which include the tenant based and project based programs. These state programs are federally supported through HUD (Housing and Urban Development Department).

ID Section 8 housing programs utilize housing vouchers, but tenant and project based programs differ slightly in their apportioning of funding, and in selection of low income housing options. Tenant based Section 8 programs issue the vouchers in the name of the family or individual participating in the program. Project based programs have the funding tied to the actual rental unit, itself. Tenant based programs offer more mobility, and allows Section 8 tenants to move from one low income house rental to another without a loss of benefits. In the project based Section 8 program, if a renter wishes to move locations, they can do so, but their Section 8 benefits may not move with them.

Idaho Section 8 eligibility is based on personal information and documentation gained from the applicant. Information pertaining to income, household composition, citizenship, residency, and background are all important sections on the HUD Section 8 application. Regardless of where the Section 8 applicant lives in Idaho, federal guidelines mandate that the applicant should be considered low income, or very low income, in order to receive housing assistance. Low income requirements within the state of Idaho differ from one county to another, as some counties may be more affluent than others. Applicants who make less than the average salary for an Idaho county qualify for Section 8 housing assistance. Those Section 8 housing applicants who make a combined family income of only 30-50 percent of the average salary in their area qualify for aid. Preference is given to those Section 8 applications in Idaho that are submitted by the disabled, seniors, or veterans.

Learn About Requirements for Section 8 in Idaho

Section 8 eligibility in Idaho is determined by adhering to federal, state, and local guidelines. Many applicants may ask “What are the qualifications for low income housing in Idaho?” and “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing?” as they begin to research the Section 8 eligibility guidelines. Section 8 eligibility in Idaho is geared around the area in which an applicant lives. Additional criteria for eligibility exist, and concern an applicant’s background, financial history, family composition, and citizenship.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in Idaho

To learn how to apply for the Section 8 housing in Idaho, residents should first begin by picking up the Section 8 application from their local housing authority, or printing it from the local housing authority’s site. The HUD Section 8 application is an application produced on the federal level by the Housing and Urban Development Dept., and administered on the local level by one of the eleven housing authorities in the state. The ID HUD Section 8 application requires applicants to provide personal information on a wide range of topics including financial history, rental history, personal background, citizenship, and family composition.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in Idaho

Idaho residents can gather information about Section 8 waiting lists from the local PHA offices that issue public housing vouchers. PHA offices are Public Housing Authorities that administer public housing funds on behalf of the US department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The PHA offices qualify housing assistance applicants and ensure that they meet eligibility standards before they can be added on the Section 8 housing program application waiting list for housing assistance. ID Low income housing waiting lists are kept by PHA offices because they receive high volumes of applications and they do not have enough resources to meet this demand. There are 10 Public Housing Authorities and other several authorized agencies that operate in Idaho.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in Idaho

Section 8 denial letters in Idaho are sent by the regional housing authority for many reasons, ranging from errors in completing the application, to more serious disqualifications. What are the reasons for Section 8 denial in Idaho? The largest reason for Section 8 denial letters in Idaho comes from one of two issues: not filling out the form completely or accurately, and not qualifying because of income. Applicants who do experience a Section 8 housing disqualification do have the opportunity for a Section 8 denial appeal but there is a time limit in which they can act.