Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Apartments in Kansas

Kansas Section 8 housing is one part of a larger program by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to help low income families and individuals find safe, sanitary housing throughout the U.S. While Section 8 housing is funded through HUD and HUD does provide guidelines for managing the program, public housing authorities across the U.S. manage the Section 8 program at the local level. Housing authorities are responsible for admittance to the Section 8 program, verifying information, assisting applicants and landlords, as well as developing appropriate housing to meet the housing needs of the local population. Housing authorities also establish waiting lists for housing and issuing Section 8 vouchers when housing becomes available. The Section 8 housing program in Kansas currently has over 12,000 rent assisted housing units.

Low income housing assistance from a local housing authority usually comes in the form of a voucher. The housing authority voucher program can be tenant based or project based. Project based vouchers are tied to a specific low income house rental or apartment complex. If a renter moves out of a project based unit, the Section 8 voucher remains with the apartment and the occupant must reapply for assistance again. Tenant based vouchers travel with the tenant, allowing the recipient to find appropriate low income housing on the private market and not tied to a specific apartment complex or unit. Tenants can choose a low income house rental, condominium, townhouse or other property participating in the Section 8 program. Tenants can even choose the property where they currently reside provided the property meets the HUD standards and passes inspection. Tenants can also find private housing if the landlord agrees to participate in the Section 8 program and meets HUD guidelines and passes inspection.

Regardless of the type of voucher a participant has, the rent paid each month by the participant is 30 percent of adjusted gross income of the household. The local housing authority is responsible for paying the remaining 70 percent of the Fair Market Rent to the landlord each month. The household income for Section 8 participants can be adjusted for dependents under 18, senior citizens, individuals with disabilities and allowances for medical expenses can also be included. The housing authority can provide exact information about what expenses can be deducted from the annual gross income of the household.

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in Kansas

“What are the qualifications for low income housing in Kansas?”, new Section 8 applicants ask. Qualifying for Section 8 eligibility in Kansas is comprised of meeting guidelines in the areas of family composition, finances, background and citizenship. The most significant of these qualifying areas is in the area of income, as Section 8 eligibility requires that applicants make less than the average salary of those living in their county in Kansas.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in Kansas

Any potential applicants for Section 8 housing in Kansas will have to fill out a HUD Section 8 application in order to be considered for the program. HUD is the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the federal branch of the government which work with the local housing authority to make the Section 8 program. HUD and local housing agents have made the process of how to register for Section 8 housing program fairly easy and straightforward. HUD makes how to apply for Section 8 housing in Kansas an easy and accessible process as housing is such a vital asset for low income households. The HUD Section 8 application is only a few pages long, and does not require nearly as much documentation as some other federal aid programs designed to help low income households.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting List in Kansas

Section 8 waiting lists in Kansas are operated and maintained in all 103 counties within the state. More than half of those Section 8 waiting lists are currently open and accepting applications, though this is always subject to change as vacancies are filled. In the counties where the lists are closed, such as Olathe County, many wonder, “When will the Section 8 waiting lists open in my county?” Most counties announce when their Section 8 low income housing waiting lists will be taking applications, will advertise the deadline to apply in the local newspapers, and often on local radio. Most housing authority websites also list information about the Section 8 low income housing waiting lists for the area. Housing authorities do not take or process Section 8 applications when the low income housing waiting lists are not open.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in Kansas

Those who are the recipient of a Section 8 denial letter in Kansas often wonder what the next steps might be, or if receiving the Section 8 denial letter signals the end of their Section 8 eligibility. In fact, KS Section 8 denial letters are sent by the local housing authorities as an automatic response to a discrepancy on the application. The nature of the discrepancy will determine whether the applicant can, or should, pursue a Section 8 denial appeal or whether they have been declared ineligible without a chance of resubmittal.

Most Section 8 denial letters in Kansas are received because of errors on the Section 8 applications. Failure to sign the consent forms, leaving sections blank or not including adequate documentation are common reasons for receiving Section 8 denial letters in Kansas. Section 8 housing disqualifications that are of a more serious nature can include negative reports from a former landlord, or the discovery of a criminal record that gives cause for concern.