Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in Montana

Section 8 eligibility in MT is determined by the two different groups that are in charge of the program. Section 8 is a federal program that is run by HUD, but HUD works alongside each state’s department to provide a personalized program. In Montana, HUD works with the Montana Department of Commerce (MDOC). Not only do they set the Section 8 eligibility requirements, but they help answer common questions, such as “What are the qualifications for low income housing in Montana?” Since every state has a slightly different program, Section 8 eligibility requirements do differ a little from state to state. Even with that in mind, the program is still very straight forward and does not require too much in the way of personal documentation to prove Section 8 eligibility.

What are the requirements for Section 8 in Montana?

One of the first questions that applicants want answered is “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing in Montana?” Section 8 eligibility guidelines are very definitive. The two most important things when determining Section 8 eligibility are family size and household income. Family size is important because this will indicate why a family might need help. Larger families with several working members might seem like they are doing well based solely on reported income, but if they are taking care of multiple family members that number might be misleading.

The applicant must be able to prove that they are a legal United States citizen in order to meet all of the Section 8 eligibility guidelines. In addition, both the applicant and all household members must not have a criminal record to be eligible for Section 8.

Who meets the requirements for Section 8 housing in Montana?

In order to meet Section 8 eligibility guidelines, the applicant must be making at least 30 percent of the median income for the county they are applying to get aid in. This is generally the trickiest part of applying for Section 8, since it means having to do research on each county in the area. Applicants that are having trouble with this or any other Section 8 eligibility requirements can always seek assistance online, or speak with a MDOC or HUD agent directly. A complete listing, by county, of the median salaries is available online.

What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing in Montana?

Another common question that new applicants have is “What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing in Montana?” Unlike other government programs, proving Section 8 eligibility does not require unusual documentation. Applicants will have to provide proof of citizenship for not only themselves, but also their family members. The applicant will also have to provide basic financial documentation, such as bank statements, the most recent tax records, and any recent paystubs. Section 8 eligibility in Montana also states that if an applicant is getting help from another federal program, they should bring proof of that as well. Section 8 eligibility applicants that have a disability or are in the armed forces should bring along proof of that as well.

Potential candidates for Section 8 eligibility can choose to apply online, or they can visit with a HUD or MDOC agent in person to get help completing the forms. Anyone that is still confused about Section 8 eligibility is encouraged to go in person to get the additional assistance. After about two weeks, the applicant should be notified about whether or not they met all the Section 8 eligibility requirements. Applicants can check the progress of the application either online or by speaking with an agent.

It is very important to keep up with the Section 8 application. Even applicants that are confident they meet all of the Section 8 eligibility guidelines should keep an active eye on the application. The most common reason for an applicant getting denied is because something was incorrectly marked or a document was missing when the application was submitted.

Just meeting all of the Section 8 eligibility requirements does not mean the applicant will immediately begin receiving housing vouchers upon approval. Applicants that are approved are placed on the Section 8 waiting list. The state of Montana only has a limited number of vouchers that they can provide at any given time. Applicants that are disabled, elderly or served in the armed forces tend to move up the list quicker.