Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Apartments in Montana

Section 8 housing in Montana is part of the larger federal housing program. The HUD (Housing and Urban Development) at the federal level and the regional housing authorities on the local level, work in conjunction to assist low income families find affordable housing. Low income housing in Montana is available for those who meet basic income level criteria, as well as citizenship, household composition and background checks. Two Section 8 programs exist in Montana, the tenant based program, and the project based low income housing program.

Montana residents who qualify can participate in the Section 8 housing program and are not only limited to rental units that are in housing projects. Tenant based Section 8 programs allow residents to select low income house rentals in their area that meet their needs. If the selected home is not already on the approved list, then the regional housing authority will certify the residence after inspecting it. The Section 8 housing program issues housing vouchers for use in the programs, but the vouchers, themselves, are never directly handed to the participants. These housing choice vouchers are given by the public housing authority to the landlord on the renter’s behalf.

Many who are new to the Montana Section 8 program think that obtaining Section 8 assistance means that there will be no out of pocket expenses for rent. The rent subsidy provided by Section 8 will cover up to 70 percent of the rent, but the difference is paid by the renter. Those who are enrolled in the tenant based Section 8 program can move from one approved low income house rental to the next without a loss of services. However, those who are participants in the Section 8 project based program, will lose benefits if they move because the vouchers are tied to the rental unit, and not the renter.

Montana Section 8 programs are operated in 11 regions for all of the 56 counties. Currently, most counties are open and accepting Section 8 applications. Section 8 applicants may only apply to one region, which may include several counties. The average wait time for Section 8 housing assignments in Montana is a few months to a year or more in some areas. Priority is often given to those families whose composition includes the disabled, the elderly, veterans or those families with very young children.

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in Montana

Section 8 eligibility in MT is determined by the two different groups that are in charge of the program. Section 8 is a federal program that is run by HUD, but HUD works alongside each state’s department to provide a personalized program. In Montana, HUD works with the Montana Department of Commerce (MDOC). Not only do they set the Section 8 eligibility requirements, but they help answer common questions, such as “What are the qualifications for low income housing in Montana?” Since every state has a slightly different program, Section 8 eligibility requirements do differ a little from state to state. Even with that in mind, the program is still very straight forward and does not require too much in the way of personal documentation to prove Section 8 eligibility.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in Montana

In Montana, the HUD Section 8 application process can take many months to be verified by the authorities, and just as many months for the applicant to fill it out correctly. Due to the nature of the Section 8 program, each HUD Section 8 application is verified by an independent agent at the local PHA office before it is sent to the federal department (HUD). Because of this, it is very important that the HUD Section 8 application in NE be filled out correctly and accurately as mistakes can delay processing, and may result in a rejection from the program. Residents in Montana who would like to register for Section 8 housing programs will need to begin with the application, which can be printed from a home computer, or obtained in paper form from the local public housing authority. Additionally, the HUD Section 8 application can be accessed and filled out using the online application for low income housing, but the appropriate documentation will need to have already been digitalized for upload prior to accessing the online application.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in Montana

In Montana’s 56 counties, the Montana Section 8 housing waiting list 2017 is currently open, and is listed to remain open, indefinitely. There are 11 regional housing authorities to cover all of the counties, so applicants should refer to the low income housing waiting list that is available for their county, specifically. Residents whose names have been added to the low income housing waiting list have first filled out and submitted the required HUD paperwork and documentation. Montana residents will not be added to the Section 8 waiting list until this procedure and process has been followed. Once approved, Montana residents will be placed on a Section 8 waiting list and when a vacancy in their area becomes available, and their name is at the top of the lists they will be contacted as to the next steps.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in Montana

A Section 8 denial letter is issued to applicants when the housing authority determines that the application does not qualify for public housing. The application may have been denied for various reasons, including too high an income, non-verifiable information, or criminal activity by a member of the household. Most often, it is simply missing supporting documentation. A Section 8 denial appeal may be filed if the applicant does not believe the reason for denial is legitimate.