Eligibility for Section 8 in North Carolina


Section 8 eligibility in North Carolina has different categories of requirements that must be met in order to receive benefits. Section 8 eligibility requirements exist for all three levels of low income housing (local, state, and federal). Contrary to what many people think, income is not the sole qualifier for Section 8 eligibility, there are also requirements for residency and background checks. The main factor that contributes to Section 8 eligibility requirements is the area in which an applicant resides. For more information regarding Section 8 eligibility in North Carolina, the following topics are available for review:

  • North Carolina Section 8 eligibility requirements
  • What are the qualifications for low income housing in North Carolina?
  • Section 8 Eligibility in North Carolina

North Carolina Section 8 Eligibility Requirements

Section 8 eligibility requirements in Maine are not only comprised of the main categories of income, residency and background evaluations, but of extra requirements such as the age of the household members, household size, current assets and any debts that the household has. Special Section 8 eligibility priority will be given to applicants who have households comprised of young children, disabled, elderly or currently pregnant women. Though if a household does not have any of these individuals, they can still qualify for Section 8 eligibility if they meet all of the criteria set forth.

The first Section 8 eligibility requirement to look at should be residency. If an applicant is not a legal United States Citizen and a resident of the state of North Carolina, they will not be able to apply for Section 8 low income housing. Their household members must also be legal citizens or residents but they do not have to be residents of North Carolina. If an applicant meets the Section 8 eligibility requirement for residency, they should move on to look at the income requirement.

Section 8 eligibility is heavily influenced by a family’s average median income. A family will qualify for Section 8 so long as they make at or below 30 percent of the median income for their area. To find out the Section 8 eligibility median income for a specific area, contact the local housing authorities. The local housing authorities have that information organized by county for ease of access.

What are the requirements for Section 8 in North Carolina? If an applicant has qualified in both income and residency Section 8 eligibility requirements, they must also pass the background checks. Section 8 eligibility background checks will evaluate rental history and criminal history. If an applicant has any negative rental history, they may not qualify for Section 8 eligibility in North Carolina. Negative rental history is classified as documented cases of eviction, failure to pay, history of damage or late payments. North Carolina allows felons to apply for section 8 low income housing.

Just because an applicant has a criminal record does not mean that they will automatically be disqualified for Section 8 eligibility in North Carolina. Each application that submits documentation of previous criminal history will be evaluated as a case-by-case basis by the local housing authorities. They may decide if a crime is enough to warrant a Section 8 eligibility denial letter or not. The only two types of crimes that will guarantee a Section 8 eligibility denial letter is cases of sexual misconduct and methamphetamine production.

If an applicant does not have a criminal record but one family member in the household does, their Section 8 eligibility may be affected. However, if the family member leaves the household, the applicant’s eligibility will not be affected. Though if the application has already been submitted by the time the family member left, they must go ahead and notify the housing authorities before a Section 8 eligibility denial letter is issued.

What are the qualifications for low income housing in North Carolina?

What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing in North Carolina? When submitting the Section 8 eligibility application, it all comes down to the documentation. Documentation is what the housing authorities will use to verify that the Section 8 eligibility application is accurate. If any Section 8 eligibility documentation is missing, then the verification process cannot begin and an applicant may receive a Section 8 eligibility denial letter. While this list is in no way concrete, these are the types of documentation an applicant should have on hand before filling out the application. For a more complete list of what are the qualifications for low income housing in NC, contact the local housing authorities for more information:

  • Identification for everyone living in the home
  • A listing of any other government benefits
  • Current school transcripts (if applicable)
  • Official birth certificates for everyone in the household
  • Pay stubs and tax returns (three months’ worth, if applicable)
  • A listing of current debts and assets
  • Social Security cards for everyone living in the home
  • Proof of residency in the county (utility bill, or letter from a shelter)

Section 8 Eligibility in North Carolina

Section 8 eligibility in North Carolina must be met at federal, local and state levels. If an applicant is struggling to find the answer to the question of “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing in North Carolina?” it is important to start with residency and income. As long as the applicant is a resident of the United states and North Carolina, they are safe to continue to look at Section 8 eligibility requirements for income. Once the income requirements have been met and an applicant has looked at the other requirements, they should obtain an application from the local housing authorities.

What is Section 8?

The Section 8 program was created by the federal government to assist low-income individuals and families with finding affordable private housing. To learn how you can become a member of this assistance program, download our helpful guide today. Beneficiaries of the program have a percentage of their rent covered by the government via housing subsidies, which are administered on a local level by public housing agencies or PHAs directly to landlords. Section 8 members are allowed to choose apartments, townhouses or even modest homes in this program, but the landlord must accept government subsidies in order for the provided housing vouchers to be used. Learn more about how you can qualify for housing assistance and discover the steps to file an application by clicking here.

How much will my housing subsidy be?

As a Section 8 beneficiary, you will pay the difference between your landlord’s rent amount and how much your housing subsidy covers. To find out how you can get a housing subsidy, download our guide now. If you are accepted into the Section 8 program, your public housing agency will calculate the maximum assistance you can receive. Your maximum housing assistance will either be the total rent of your apartment/home minus 30 percent of your adjusted monthly income or it will be the payment standard less 30 percent of your adjusted monthly income, whichever amount is lower. To find out how Section 8 can benefit you today, click here.