Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in North Dakota

When trying to answer the questions: “What are the qualifications for low income housing in North Dakota? “and “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing at all?” it is important to take the Section 8 eligibility process step by step. The main thing to keep in mind with Section 8 eligibility in North Dakota is that eligibility is contingent upon where an applicant lives.

What Are the North Dakota Section 8 Requirements?

Section 8 eligibility in North Dakota, contrary to popular belief, is not decided solely by income. There are other Section 8 eligibility factors that contribute to an applicant being accepted or denied into Section 8 low income housing. Section 8 eligibility awards special priority status to any households comprised of young children, the elderly, currently pregnant women, or the disabled. Even if a household does not have any of these types of people, they can still qualify for Section 8 eligibility by meeting all criteria set forth at the local, state, and federal level.

What are the requirements for Section 8 in North Dakota? Section 8 eligibility is decided by the three main categories of income, residency, and background evaluations. When first trying to decide if an applicant qualifies for Section 8 eligibility, they need to look at residency. The only way an applicant can meet residency requirements is for them to be legal United States citizen and residents of North Dakota. Only the applicant must be a resident of the state, the applicant’s household are allowed to be new to North Dakota, this will not affect the Section 8 eligibility application. Once the requirement for residency has been met, an applicant needs to look at income requirements.

Section 8 eligibility income requirements take into account the median income for the area the applicant resides, and the applicant’s family median income. To meet Section 8 eligibility income requirements, an applicant must make at or below 50 percent of their area’s median income level. Applicants who make at or less than 30 percent of the area’s median income will stand a good chance of receiving a housing voucher. To find the Section 8 eligibility median income for a particular county, the applicant should contact the housing authorities for more information.

Background checks are the last major Section 8 eligibility requirements to pass. There are two types of background checks run: rental and criminal. For rental checks, applicants should have a clean rental history. Any documented history of late payments, failure to pay, evictions or damage to the property may result in a Section 8 eligibility denial letter to be issued. As for criminal background checks, it is required to attach any criminal convictions to the application. Section 8 eligibility does not bar felons from applying but their eligibility may be limited. Each criminal case is taken at a case-by-case basis with the housing authorities deciding if the application deserves a denial letter because of the criminal activity. If a crime was minor and carried out a long time ago, applicants stand a good chance of having their Section 8 eligibility application accepted. The only crimes that warrant automatic Section 8 eligibility rejections are methamphetamine production and sexual misconduct. If an applicant’s family has criminal records while the applicant does not, they are required to disclose their family’s criminal history. The applicant’s Section 8 eligibility will be affected by any criminal history unless the family member in question leaves the household.

What are the qualifications for low income housing in North Dakota?

What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing in North Dakota? All required Section 8 eligibility documentation must be attached to the application before it is sent off for verification. The housing authorities will look to the Section 8 eligibility documentation to verify that all of the information on the application is true. If there is Section 8 eligibility documentation missing or insufficient the application will receive a Section 8 eligibility rejection letter. Always be sure to have appropriate documentation on hand before filling out the application. Some of the documents an applicant is expected to have include:

  • A listing of any other government benefits.
  • Current transcripts (if applicable).
  • Social Security cards for everyone living in the home.
  • Proof of residency in the county (utility bill, or letter from a shelter).
  • Official birth certificates for everyone in the household.
  • Identification for everyone living in the home.
  • Pay stubs and tax returns (three months’ worth if applicable).
  • A listing of current debts and assets.

Learn More About Section 8 Requirements in North Dakota

Section 8 eligibility is a lengthy process that requires all parties to be organized. If one document is missing, then an application will be rejected. Also if an applicant is not careful when they check to see if they satisfy the Section 8 eligibility requirements, they may end up being rejected. When trying to decide “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing in North Dakota?”, an applicant should look to see if they satisfy all the requirements. If they do satisfy the requirements the next step is to get a Section 8 eligibility form from the housing authorities.