Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 in North Dakota

The North Dakota Section 8 housing program is one of many programs offered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD works alongside each individual state in the U.S. through housing authorities located throughout the state. In North Dakota, each of the 50 counties is offered Section 8 housing programs through 36 regional housing authorities. The housing authorities in ND own and maintain well over six thousand rental units and low income housing throughout the state. For those interested in applying for Section 8 services in their area, the first step is to locate the housing authority in the region and then to assess their eligibility in several key areas: income, family composition, background, and residency.

Section 8 in North Dakota begins with a family’s income assessment. To determine eligibly for the Section 8 housing voucher program, the applicant should look at the median salary range for their ND county. If the family’s income falls at least 50 percent below what other average families make in the area, then the family has qualified in the area of income. Potential Section 8 applicants should keep in mind that income is considered to be the combined income of the family, not just the applicant. Other areas in which a Section 8 applicant must qualify include citizenship, personal history records and the family’s background. Preference is given to those who are veterans, seniors or disabled. Section 8 housing programs restrict those who are on the sexual predator database, are felons convicted of violent crimes or have been involved in the criminal activity involving the distribution, manufacture or sale of illegal substances from applying for the program.

Section 8 in North Dakota is offered through two programs, called tenant based and project based. Tenant based programs allow tenants to select low income housing from the private sector, while project based programs allow the participant to select from designated public housing projects. Both utilize Section 8 housing vouchers which will cover 70 percent of the rental fees. Thirty percent of a family’s income must go toward covering the remaining portion of the rental fees. Low income house rentals are possible through this program, and many are qualified and able to use the vouchers to go towards the purchase of their own home.

Learn About Requirements for Section 8 in North Dakota

When trying to answer the questions: “What are the qualifications for low income housing in North Dakota? “and “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing at all?” it is important to take the Section 8 eligibility process step by step. The main thing to keep in mind with Section 8 eligibility in North Dakota is that eligibility is contingent upon where an applicant lives.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in North Dakota

HUD Section 8 applications in North Dakota can be obtained from all housing authorities within the state and are the first step towards receiving Section 8 housing assistance in the U.S. North Dakota residents can register for Section 8 housing program locally if they would like to benefit from subsidized housing. However, they must meet certain eligibility conditions before their HUD Section 8 application can be considered. Should applicants fail to meet any of these requirements, their applications will be declined and other more qualified applicants will be considered. This is why it is crucial for all ND section 8 applicants to understand how to apply for Section 8 housing so that they can increase their chances of qualifying.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in North Dakota

The low income housing waiting lists in North Dakota in most counties are still accepting applications. Section 8 waiting list availability is subject to change, and can fluctuate from one county to the next. Low income housing waiting lists in North Dakota are maintained by each individual housing authority and are updated according to that county’s policies. The main coordinating organization for all Section 8 programs is the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Section 8 waiting lists are not accessible by the general public, and those whose names are on the Section 8 waiting lists in ND have gone through the HUD application process to become eligible for housing subsidies. No one can be placed on the Section 8 waiting list in ND without first being determined eligible to receive housing vouchers.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in North Dakota

It is quite common for first time applicants to receive a Section 8 denial letter after submitting their low income housing application. Nothing is more frustrating than waiting the two-week verification period only to be denied due to Section 8 housing disqualifications on the application. What are the reasons for Section 8 denial in ND? Because housing agencies receive so many applications, the guidelines must be stringent when it comes to verifying the applications. There are plenty of reasons for a Section 8 denial letter to be issued. The most common reasons for a Section 8 denial letter are documentation or mistakes on the application.