Learn How To Apply For Section 8 With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple
Free and easy
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Apartments in Wisconsin

The Wisconsin Section 8 program is currently available in all of the state’s 72 counties. Administered through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Wisconsin’s Section 8 program is part of the larger federal affordable housing program. On the local level, a Wisconsin housing authority works with residents in their areas to help them qualify for benefits and to offer them low income housing that is both safe and affordable. Currently, there are 123 housing authorities in Wisconsin. However, not every WI housing authority offers a Section 8 program.

HUD offers low income housing in Wisconsin as either a project-based public housing program or a tenant-based Section 8 program. Project-based Section 8 housing programs in Wisconsin fund the rental unit, making it affordable for very low income applicants. However, if the renter wishes to move from the rental unit, the eligibility will not move with them since the funding is tied to the property and not the individual as it is with tenant-based programs.

The tenant-based Section 8 program works with the private sector to provide low income house rentals in Wisconsin. The housing authority works with the landlords on a contract basis to provide rental assistance. On behalf of HUD, the Wisconsin housing authority then pays a certain percentage of the beneficiary’s monthly rent payment. In the tenant-based system, a Wisconsin housing authority provides section 8 beneficiaries with a housing choice voucher (HCV) that the beneficiary may use to find a qualifying rental unit. A tenant-based Section 8 applicant may submit his or her own home as a possible candidate for the program, allowing them to stay in their home. In these cases, the Wisconsin HUD offices must inspect the WI Section 8 candidate’s home to make sure it meets safety guidelines and other standards before it can be accepted into the program.

One of the key qualifying factors for Wisconsin Section 8 eligibility is that the candidate must be considered a low income family. This means that the applicants for Section 8 in WI must meet certain income levels. To qualify for Section 8 housing in Wisconsin, the applicant must have an income that is less than the median income in his or her county. Those with an income that is 30-50 percent lower than those around them, on average, are considered eligible by virtue of their income. However, other criteria are also involved in determining Section 8 eligibility, including the areas of personal history, citizenship, rental reports and other locally required stipulations.

Learn the Requirements for Section 8 in Wisconsin

To answer the question “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing in Wisconsin?” an applicant must consider his or her income level, citizenship status, residency, criminal background and rental history. Wisconsin Section 8 eligibility requirements must be met at three levels: local, state, and federal. Some of the WI Section 8 eligibility qualifications depend on the local area where a housing candidate resides, and applicants may find it easier to qualify for Section 8 housing in certain areas. Wisconsin PHAs will also award higher priority to households with members who are elderly people, people with disabilities or young children.

Learn How to Apply for Section 8 in Wisconsin

To find out how to apply for Section 8 housing in Wisconsin, applicants can contact one of the state’s Public Housing Agencies (PHAs), which are available in all the counties of Wisconsin and provide housing assistance on behalf of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). By completing a Wisconsin HUD Section 8 application through a local PHA, WI residents with low incomes can take the first step toward receiving affordable housing subsidies. Only applications that meet the standard requirements of HUD and the local PHA are accepted and placed on the Section 8 waiting list. To register for section 8 housing programs in WI, housing petitioners must provide all the information and documents required by the PHA.

Learn About Section 8 Waiting Lists in Wisconsin

The Wisconsin Section 8 housing program application waiting list is where most new applicants to the Section 8 affordable housing program will remain for a certain amount of time. Low income housing waiting lists in WI are created and managed by Wisconsin Public Housing Agencies (PHAs) that have more demand for affordable housing than they have available adequate housing. The WI Section 8 housing program application waiting list is comprised of qualified Section 8 candidates who have met certain income levels, as well as citizenship and residency requirements, and have passed a rigorous background check. In Wisconsin, the Section 8 housing waiting list 2017 is still open and accepting applications in approximately 65 counties, but this number is subject to change.

Learn About Section 8 Denial in Wisconsin

A Wisconsin Section 8 denial letter will be sent to Section 8 housing applicants who have been declared ineligible by a local Public Housing Agency (PHA) for at least one of several possible reasons. For example, WI Section 8 housing disqualifications can result from a mistake on an application form, an income that is too high, a deliberate omission of information from an application form or a problem discovered during a background check. If a petitioner receives a Section 8 denial letter in Wisconsin, his or her options for responding are limited. A Section 8 denial appeal can be made in WI, but the applicant has no other options after the PHA makes a final determination of eligibility.